Territorial Acknowledgment

Portland State University is located in what is now called Portland, Oregon, in Multnomah County, on the ancestral homelands and political territories of the Multnomah, Kathlamet, Clackamas, Tumwater, Watlala bands of the Chinook, the Tualatin Kalapuya and other Indigenous nations of the Columbia River.

Following the Indigenous protocol of acknowledging the original people of the land I occupy, I also extend my respect to the nine federally recognized Indigenous nations of Oregon: the Burns Paiute Tribe, the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians, the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde, the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, the Coquille Indian Tribe, the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians, and the Klamath Tribes. I express my respect to the many more tribes who have ancestral connections to this territory, as well as to all other displaced Indigenous peoples who call Oregon home.

This language was adapted from the territorial acknowledgments made by the Cultural Resource Centers at Portland State University and by the Native American Studies Program at the University of Oregon, with my gratitude.